Sarj

Sea Lion Woman

In Life in Berlin on May 8, 2010 at 7:12 pm

I had no idea that the original song was actually called “Sea Lion Woman,” or that it was an an old-time American folk song. In any case, I’m pretty sure it’s one of the best songs of all time, which is must be why there are so many terrible remixes and renditions. But Nina Simone does it so right, perhaps even better in her old age. What a gal.

Pretty sure the last time I wrote in this thing I was sitting in almost the exact same window seat at Cafe Cuccuma, thinking about many of the same things, watching row upon row of fashionable Berliners walk and bike by with their amazing shoes and adorable, mangy dogs.  A lot has happened in the two months since my last update, which is precisely why it’s taken so long to get back to this thing.

[PAUSE: How the f*&^ is everyone in this city so incredibly gorgeous? Seriously, WTF??]

To be honest, I don’t even know where to begin. Thanks to my (wonderful) job and the always-eventful weekend schedules, my weeks are absolutely flying by. My weekdays are filled with techy tweeting and blogging, project management, brainstorming galore. I am so proud of the guys that I work with — next level intelligence and incredible kindness. I feel exceptionally lucky to have found myself a part of such a wonderful team. Every day is a healthy challenge, and the work is always changing so every day feels fresh. Love it.

Leave a Reply

