Sarj

All My Exes (Still) Live in Texas (I think)

In Food, Life in Berlin, Music on February 9, 2010 at 6:27 pm

As Valentine’s Day approaches, I can’t help but think of lovers past.

My not-so-ex Lover

My not-so-ex lover

Who needs to worry about the past when there is such a perfect present? A girl has to visit her ghosts, but wordpress is probably not the best place to do it.

Getting back to the situation at hand, a quick review of recent events.

1) The Deutsche Guggenheim is outrageously small. As in, one room. The exhibit was pretty interesting (“Utopia Matters” — indeed it does), but after ascending the spiral of the New York Guggenheim, I was a bit shocked to find that the second room of the Deutsche counterpart was the gift shop. Ah well.

2) I’ve decided that Sonntagsets (daytime Sundays) is the number one time to show up at my favorite venue. Basically an ideal “klubnacht” entails waking up around  6-7am Sunday morning (har har), eating a giant omelet with toast, then heading to Berlin’s specialest dance floor fresh-faced for hours of groovin’. The entrance and the drinks are cheaper, it’s less crowded, and the music is louder.

3) I ate the best pizza of my life before the Ninca Leece show at Golden Gate last weekend (Good night, bad club). It was at a restaurant called Due Forni in Prenzlauer Berg. I have always been a pizza lover (as many of you know, Picco is my favorite Boston restaurant), but I had no idea it could be so next level. Somehow the pizza I was due to share with Will (prosciutto and mushrooms) was rather late in arriving to our table — everyone else was already chowing down. So while we nursed yet another class of red wine from the canteen, a guy we’d just met offered us a piece of his margherita to share.

The dough, so supple! The sauce, so sweet! The cheese, so salty! The temperature… juuuuuuust right.

4) Kinda reminds me of how perfect my Valentine is. What a cutie…

Aww.

Leave a Reply

