Sarj

Something more

In Life in Berlin, Music on January 13, 2010 at 8:47 pm

Two weeks time now spent in Berlin.

The first two weeks are always the most confusing, but the most telling as well. I am anxious to find and start a job so that I can begin to feel like I am living a normal life here, instead of just some strange version of vacation in which I write and read all day instead of visiting national monuments.

Still, we are already starting to feel at home, in some ways. Will seems to have found work, or something like it, at the Resident Advisor office. Which means I really need to find something for myself, and fast. I have found a few promising leads, but applying for work in a city with such an interesting employment rate can be a bit intimidating. I know can make a good impression, so if I can just manage to meet with a few prospects, I think I can nail something.

What I love about Berlin:

Our room in Kreuzberg, although we've rearranged

What I hate about Berlin:

Do you see that shelf? I'll let you draw your own conclusions...

One of my favorite things about being here is actually having the time and energy to devote to music again. The past few months of work in Boston often left me with few spare hours to peruse new tunes, which often meant that I resigned to old ones. Since this new influx, these are getting heavy rotation:

Akufen — My way

In reading up on Brandt Brauer Frick for a review I did for Little White Earbuds, I learned about Frick’s affection for this album as his first love in truly inspired electronic dance music. If you like house and you don’t already have this album, well… get it!

Atlas Sound — Let the Blind Lead Those Who can See but Cannot Feel

I totally missed the boat on this album somehow. My loss– it’s ultra-dreamy, a slow and twinkling album to roll out of bed to, much like Deerhunter’s Microcastle, but with a little more feedback and a lot more a Wonderland. All this to say: Bradford Cox is the fucking man.

Anton Zap — Take It As It Comes EP

No youtube available, but check out the clips on the Juno site. Mr. Zap is my boy for dub house, and on this release more than ever before he has really managed to chisel out a signature sound. It may be too subtle for some, but I dig it. Especially “I’m fine.” Mmm, mmm, good.

Also on the proverbial plates are the new Steffi single, Kill Me (skip the original and head straight for the Crushed Soul mix); DJ Qu — Party People Clap (for Christ sake get this if you haven’t already); and the expectedly eccentric (but still so suave) new nsi. release, Eitherway.

Now reading Günter Grass’ Tin Drum (after I finished The Road in about two days of being here), and it is every bit as charming as the movie, which is one of my favorites. If you’re looking for some sincerely bizarre and yet strikingly moving German film, do yourself and favor and netflix Tin Drum. This is one of a VERY few circumstances in which I would actually recommend seeing the movie before you read the book.

I am getting better at my Bamboo sketch tablet. That is, not totally retarded at it. Still not great in Illustrator, though.

And my German still sucks.

Getting there…

  1. Aw, guys- Your place is freaking awesome! That room is just full of happy colors. I’m ridiculously stoked for you two.

    I’m sure you’ll find a job no problem. But meanwhile, falling in love with new/old music again, is such an awesome feeling. I’ve been getting back in touch with my musical side… though more through playing. I’ve been practicing playing the ukulele. Hopefully I’ll get as good as this guy: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ErMWX–UJZ4

    I miss yall so much! Update again soon!!!

    P.S. Those toilets! Bizarre.

Leave a Reply

